top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAustin Prescott

Rig for MCPrep

I decided to contribute a rig for the next release of MCPrep addon for Blender 3D. The rig I made was for the Cave Spider. This is a demonstration animation made with the rig. Although I have made many rigs, this is the first animation I have every made. The entire process may be watched in this playlist.


Notes

In Part 7 regarding the Action Constraint, I had to modify it because earlier versions of Blender do not support the Evaluation Time option for the Action Constraint. Therefore, for backwards compatibility, I used a target bone that moves along the local Y-axis. I could not use the rotation of the dial directly because the target objects may only rotate up to 180°. Then, I setup a driver to move the bone from 0 to 1 as the dial rotates from 0° to 360° in the same way that the driver for the Evaluation Time operates.



Also, I made a mistake in the video. In the Action Constraint, set the frame range of the action to be from 1 to 25, one frame after the last frame of the Walk Constraint action. This will interpolate from 1 to 24.999..., looping back at frame 1 instead of proceeding to frame 25. In the video, I set it to 24, which meant that frame 24 was being skipped.


This is a demonstration of the rig working. If you pay close attention, you may notice that I forgot to change the material from an emission shader. Off camera, I went back and changed the shader to the Principle BSDF shader. I re-rendered the animation using the Principle BSDF shader and uploaded it unlisted (below).



I didn't like it as much as the Emission shader. The Emission shader looked more like Minecraft, and I liked it more. The Principled Shader was shaded, but I do not care for the specular highlights on the flat surfaces. Perhaps turning down the specular on the Principled BSDF shader or using a Diffuse shader may be better. I will have to play around with MCPrep materials in the future.



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page